Last updateThu, 23 Jun 2022 3pm

Dr. Sam T. Ingram, Clemson University, Yoshiharu Komori, Komori Corporation, and George Ryan, Printing Association of Florida, honored with the 2014 Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

Yoshiharu Komori, Chairman, President, and CEO, Komori CorporationDr. Sam T. Ingram, Professor of Graphic Communications and Department Chair at Clemson University, Yoshiharu Komori, Chairman, President, and CEO, Komori Corporation, and George Ryan, President and CEO of the Printing Association of Florida, have been named the recipients of the 2014 Michael H. Bruno Award for outstanding contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry.

The award is bestowed annually by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA).

The Michael H. Bruno Award from TAGA recognizes professionals with distinguished careers in appreciation of their dedicated service and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally. Established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts, TAGA is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical, and production personnel in the printing and allied industries.

Dr. Sam T. Ingram is a Professor of Graphic Communications and Department Chair at Clemson University in South Carolina, where he has been a faculty member for 26 years. He teaches all printing processes with a special focus in color reproduction, color science, process control, and production workflow. He was a primary planner in the development of the Sonoco Institute of Packaging and Design and Graphics on the Clemson University campus.

He has held membership in many technical and trade associations, including TAGA, Flexographic Technical Association, Gravure Association of America, Graphic Arts Technical Foundation, Screen Graphics and Imaging Association, National Association of Printing Leadership, Printing Industries of America, Printing Industries of the Carolinas, Packaging and Label Gravure Association, Southeastern Prepress Association, and the International Graphic Arts Education Association.

Dr. Ingram has served two terms on the Board of Directors for TAGA and participated on numerous technical committees in other organizations. He received the Mentor Award from Screen Printing Association International—now SGIA—in 1988.

Yoshiharu Komori, Chairman, President, and CEO, Komori Corporation, headquartered in Tokyo Japan, is a member of the founding Komori family and has been active in the business since his graduation from Keio University in 1962.

A strong supporter of the graphic arts industry, Mr. Komori serves on the board of several printing industry associations, including Global Print, the Japan Printing Machinery Manufacturers Association; the Japan Printing Academy; Insatsu Toshokan; Japan Association of Graphic Arts Technology, and the Japanese Society of Printing Science and Technology.

Mr. Komori has deep-seated interests in ecology, education, and the future of print. These beliefs led him to develop the company's "kando" initiative which focuses on providing excellence to its customers. This kando philosophy and his focus on ecology provided the framework for the construction of Komori's state-of-the-art manufacturing facility in Tsukuba Science City, a suburb of Tokyo, in 2002. As the world's most automated printing facility, the Tsukuba plant uses solar wind power and recycles waste in over 50 different categories. Komori's ecological concern led to press technology that decreases waste, lowers energy consumption, and improves efficiency.

George Ryan is the president and CEO of the Printing Association of Florida, a not for profit corporation that provides programs, information, and services to positively impact the profitability and professional growth of its members. Prior to the Printing Association of Florida, Ryan was the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the Printing Industries of America/Graphic Arts Technical Foundation. He was president of Graphic Arts Technical Foundation from 1994 to 2003 until its consolidation with Printing Industries of America.

Ryan has served on numerous boards and committees, including the Printing & Graphics Scholarship Foundation, National Skills Council for Standards in the Graphic Arts, Graphic Communications Trade Customs & Business Practices, and RIT School of Printing Advisory Committee.

During Ryan's tenure at GATF, he was instrumental in expanding the technical reference portfolio from five to sixty textbooks. Research under his watch included efforts evaluating computer to plate, digital proofing, digital printing, automated workflow, computer integrated manufacturing, servo-driven makeready, and soft color proofing.

Dr. Ingram, Mr. Komori, and Mr. Ryan will be presented with the 2014 Michael H. Bruno Award on March 25, 2014, at TAGA's 66th Annual Technical Conference in Fort Worth, Texas.



Related articles

  • Latest Post

  • Most Read

  • Twitter

Who's Online

We have 7101 guests and no members online

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.