Last updateSun, 27 Nov 2022 2pm

Calvin Lakhan elected to SGP Board of Directors

The Sustainable Green Printing Partnership (SGP), the leading authority in sustainable printing certifications, announced the election of Calvin Lakhan, Ph.D. of the Consortium for Waste Circularity (CWC) to its Board of Directors.

Lakhan is a specialist in the field of environmental resource management and economics. In addition serving on the CWC Academic Committee, Lakhan is a co-investigator of the “Waste Wiki” project at York University, Toronto. His research is devoted to advancing understanding of waste management research and policy.

"I am honored to be elected as a SGP Director and look forward to working with its community to better understand how emerging trends in waste management legislation are likely to affect them," said Lakhan. "Producer responsibility legislation is gaining traction in jurisdictions across North America and Europe, and it is critical that SGP understand what this means for the printing industry, and how best to best address these policies in a way consistent with SGP’s sustainability objectives."

"We are pleased to have Calvin join the SGP Board of Directors. He is Canada’s leading expert on waste management research and policy, authoring more 100 papers and reports," said Jonathan Graham, SGP Chair and TE Connectivity representative. "Calvin is a key community member in our Toronto hub which includes several SGP certified facilities and universities leading the way in educating then next generation in print sustainability."

Lakhan will be working with other SGP Community members to develop the SGP Academic Committee that will engage and educate students about SGPs mission. Lakhan joins Birdley James from Miller Zell as new SGP Directors along with reelected officers and directors:

Jodi Sawyer, FLEXcon, Vice Chair Engagement
Theresa Vanna, Primex Plastics Corporation, Vice Chair Marketing
Rosalyn Bandy, TLMI
Suzanna Eversole, REI Recreation Equipment Inc.
George Glisan, Ph.D., Appalachian State University

Along with leaders continuing their term:
Jonathan Graham, TE Connectivity, Chair
Marci Kinter, PRINTING United Alliance, Secretary & Vice Chair Technical
George Fuchs, NAPIM, Vice Chair Information Technology
Doreen Monteleone, Ph.D., D2 Advisory Group/FTA, Treasurer
Frank Bailey, Smyth Companies, LLC
Sean Carr, HH Global
Adrian Cook, 3M
Ben Covert, Piedmont Plastics
Nicole Papadakis, North American Plastics
Bryan Rose, Cooley/Group
Kristin Spanier, Shawmut Communications Group



Related articles

  • Latest Post

  • Most Read

  • Twitter

Who's Online

We have 8984 guests and one member online

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.