Last updateSun, 19 May 2024 8pm

AWA Annual Release Liner Industry Leadership Award 2024 Honors Robyn Buma

The recipient of the 2024 “AWA Annual Release Liner Industry Leadership Award” is Robyn Buma, announced 21 March 2024 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands at the AWA Annual Release Liner Industry Conference dinner hosted by AWA Alexander Watson Associates and Mondi Group.

The award, initiated by AWA in 2016, was created to acknowledge and recognize individuals involved in the release liner industry who have played a leadership role for the betterment of the industry, and provides peer and industry recognition for demonstrated dedication, service, and leadership to drive growth, innovation, and continuing success of the release liner industry.

Presented annually at the AWA Global Release Liner Industry Conference & Exhibition, the first recipient of the award in 2016 was Dean Scarborough, then CEO of Avery Dennison, with other past award recipients being Sean Duffey, VP Sustainability & Regulatory Compliance, Elkem Silicones in 2023, Petri Tani, Managing Director, of Cycle for Green in 2022, Alexander Watson, founder of AWA Alexander Watson Associates in 2021, and Alex Knott, from Dow, in 2020. In 2019 the award recipient was Adrian Hulme, from Avery Dennison, and prior to that, Wilhelm Munniger, from Mondi in 2018, and Calvin Frost, Chairman of Channeled Resources in 2017.

In giving the award, Corey M. Reardon, President & CEO of AWA extended his congratulations and said, “We are very proud at AWA and honored to shepherd this award, recognizing outstanding contributions to the release liner industry, and presenting this acknowledgement to such well deserving recipients. This year’s AWA Release Liner Industry Leadership Award is given to Robyn Buma”

As Corey M. Reardon further stated, “This year’s Leadership Award is being given to an individual who has played a significant role over the years, in fact decades, in helping to shape the release liner industry, including in product and market development, supply chain efficiency, and working with suppliers to be better and stronger.”

Robyn Buma is the first female to be honored with this AWA Release Liner Industry Leadership Award, and although she was unable to be there in person to receive the Award, she did provide a heartfelt thank you and words of gratitude via video, saying “Wow, what a surprise, and very nice to be recognized by AWA. Thank you very much”.

In presenting the Award, Corey stated that “Robyn’s contribution to the release liner industry, which started over 20 years ago has affected and influenced the industry, and for sure will affect and influence it for a long time to come”.

Robyn was with Avery Dennison for over 20 years, tho recently has moved on to another chapter in her professional life. Robyn started her career in product management, managing several product portfolios - across both film and paper. In 2010, Robyn moved into the procurement side of the business where she held many roles, each expanding her responsibility’s. After a period in Europe, Robyn returned to the United States and was named Vice President, Global Commodities and Vice President, NA Procurement.

During the course of her career Robyn, along with her team, was instrumental in several areas that have advanced the Release Liner and Pressure-Sensitive industry, supporting Avery Dennison’s leadership role in the industry, including, but not limited to, shifting sourcing to FSC products at price parity or recycled content, bringing in new entrants into the industry to ensure continuity of supply, working with her team on new silicone release systems, or instrumental in spearheading various industry initiatives related to sustainability and other related topics.

She was responsible for delivering sustainable competitive advantage through the latest thinking and best practices in the areas of strategic sourcing, supplier relationship development and procurement excellence. Together with her team, Robyn ensured Avery Dennison stayed on the leading­ edge of material trends, especially in support of their 2025 sustainability goals.

In closing, Corey M. Reardon stated, “Through her various roles over the years, Robyn’s outstanding contribution to the release liner and pressure sensitive industry, has helped in part, make the industry what it is today and will be tomorrow.”



Related articles

  • Latest Post

  • Most Read

  • Twitter

Who's Online

We have 11720 guests and one member online

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.